Week of March 13, 2023 • Sacramento Convention Center • Sacramento, CA

Susan Steelman Bragato Scholarship

The California Charter Schools Association (CCSA) will award ten $2,000 scholarships to high school graduates of CCSA member schools. The scholarship is named in honor of Susan Steelman Bragato, the co-founder of the first charter school in California and the founder of the California Network of Educational Charters (which was renamed the California Charter Schools Association in 2003). Susan was one of the first people to recognize the importance of building a strong network of support among charter school leaders statewide. Susan also organized the first California Charter Schools Conference.

The purpose of this scholarship is to celebrate the diversity of charter school communities and the achievements of graduating charter school students by supporting their continuing educational journeys.

Application Criteria

Check this page again in Fall of 2022 for a link to the Scholarship application.


The deadline to apply for this Scholarship will be in Spring 2023.

Click here for past award winners.

Notification of Award Winners

Award winners will be notified privately in May 2023 and will be featured on our website later that year.

Please contact if you have any questions.